Weekend Coffee Share: Spontaneity on Spring Break

Good afternoon,

First of all, sorry I wasn’t here yesterday. I was in Savannah. I got home late last night. So I’m a little tired still. I need some coffee and more. I have to go to work later today, so the visit is going to be short. 

Like I said, my family and I spent the weekend in Savannah. It was a spur-of-the-moment thing. I got half of the week off for Zoe’s Spring Break. So Colleen thought of the idea to pack some things and go down to Savannah. I had never been before, but there was talk within my family to do it.  We decided to go for it. 

On Friday morning, we left. I drove five hours. Not long with refueling and bathroom breaks. When we arrived, we passed through a poor neighborhood. It reminded me a lot of parts of Atlanta, Chicago, and pretty much all of East St. Louis. A lot of houses boarded up. Once we passed through, I felt like we entered another city. I saw housing and business unlike anything I’ve seen in Atlanta. I saw stores I didn’t expect, like H&M. Businesses only found in Savannah. When I finally found a parking garage (after traveling narrow one-way streets), we took in the sights. (I’m sorry I don’t have pictures. Colleen does most of the photography.)

We checked into a hotel (again, spur-of-the-moment) and got a little rest before traveling to Statesboro to meet up with Colleen’s brother and his wife. We had Olive Garden for dinner. Colleen and Philip talked about old classmates while his wife, Rachel, and I talked about books and writing.  My brother-in-law paid for us. That was nice. 

Saturday, Colleen planned the day a little better, but still spur-of-the-moment. We met up with a friend we knew from church at The Foxy Loxy, a very nice coffee shop. I explored a little while the women talked. It has an upstairs seating area. (Again, I apologize for not having pictures.) After spending some time with her, we drove about two minutes to a park to meet Colleen’s friend from school. I looked after the kids while they caught up. Colleen’s friend invited us to stay with her the next time we come down.

After the on-the-fly reunions, we went to Tybee Island, just outside of Savannah. It was the only thing that was planned. I was surprised that I had to pay for parking, no matter where I went. But it was fine. Manageable. For Zoe and Jaxon, it was their first time. It was a little chilly with the wind. She didn’t want to leave, but she shivered a lot. Still, it was a fitting end to a wonderful trip. 

We enjoyed our trip to South Georgia. Very exciting. I look forward to next year, when we’ll have a better plan. But even then, we’ll have room for spontaneity. 

Until next time…

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

1 thought on “Weekend Coffee Share: Spontaneity on Spring Break”

Leave a Reply

