Weekend Coffee Share: Moving? Not Moving?

Good afternoon. 

How is everyone? Sorry for being absent the past couple of weeks. It’s been kind of stressful. But more on that in a minute. Meanwhile, help yourself to some coffee. We recently restocked on San Francisco Bay K-cups. They’re very good. And we have almond creamer. 

Now that we’re set…

Like I said, we’ve been going through a lot these past couple of weeks. About a month ago, we received an email from our landlord that he was going to sell the house we’re renting and that we had 60 days to move out. As of now, we’re making plans to move into our old apartment complex. And we’ve adopted a minimalistic lifestyle. A lot of stuff we weren’t using, we’ve thrown away or donated.

But my father-in-law has a friend whose willing to help us stay in the house. The process has been going pretty slow thus far. Meanwhile, we’ve been cleaning the place up. We recently had an inspector come and tour the property. He noticed a few issues that we already knew about. And it seems like we’re finding more as we clean to show our new potential landlord that we’re being proactive in maintaining the house. And at some point, we want to have a mortgage—weird as that sounds—so that we can be in control of the house. We can get certain benefits and bring in the help we want to make this place better. 

This has been very stressful. I don’t do well with a lot of change. It’s kind of traumatic. So my wife has encouraged me to talk to people about the house. To write in my journal. The journaling I’ve been doing, but not the talking to people. It’s like I hate talking to anyone about my problems, but I end up talking about it anyway. It’s maddening. But I can’t keep pushing this issue down. I have to let it out somehow, in a healthy way. I’ve been “stress-eating” the past week or two. I haven’t been proactive in going to the gym. But thankfully, my wife has been pushing me to do so. I think she sees my bad habits better than I do. And because she hasn’t been able to make it to the gym, she doesn’t want the membership to go to waste. 

I have been writing more these past few weeks. On Twitter, I came in on a challenge to write every day. I decided I throw my hat in as an accountability partner. It’s worked thus far. I also set another goal for myself: to write a short story every week. That almost didn’t happen the first week. I had a lot of writing I was doing. But I made time somehow. A couple of days ago, I posted a poll on Twitter on what my next project should be. By that, I mean what genre my next story should be in. Right now, it’s tied between fantasy and sci-fi. I haven’t had any experience in either. But that’s what makes a good writer; being open. In fact, one of my Twitter friends challenged me to participate more in the hashtag games. Especially the ones that appear geared toward a specific genre. It’s an exercise to unleash my creativity, something I feel is sorely lacking in me. (I won’t go into the details.)

Anyway, that’s what been going on the past two weeks. Feels longer somehow. Anyway, I hope to be a little more consistent in these meetings. And hopefully, we’ll be one step closer in knowing our living situation. In the meantime, I want to hear from you. How have things been? Let me know in the comments. 

Until next time, take care…

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

2 thoughts on “Weekend Coffee Share: Moving? Not Moving?”

Leave a Reply

