Weekend Coffee Share: Life in Progress

Good afternoon,

It’s nice to see you again. It’s been very busy around here. We’re counting down the days until Zoe goes back to school. She’s been having friends come over lately. I’ve been busy with both of my jobs, as well as maintaining the yard. It’s nice to get a little break. I picked up a Caramel Frappuccino from Starbucks this morning, so I’m not really hungry. But help yourself to some coffee, orange juice, water. Whatever you want.

So, if we were having coffee, first thing to discuss is the living situation. There’s nothing new to report, which could be a good thing. We’re still working out the financial details. In the meantime, we had an associate from one of our friends come by and look at the house. I know there’s a lot of work that needs to be done, but we’re going to tackle it one at a time. And like I said, we’re working on yard maintenance. Tomorrow morning, probably, I’ll be mowing the back yard. Best time to do it before it gets too hot, or before it rains later in the day. (It’s been like that for the past week or two.)

I’m really hoping that we get the house. We’ve been getting to know some of our neighbors better. Last night, some kids came over to play with Zoe. They just moved into the neighborhood. I got a chance to meet the father. He and I have a lot in common. We like playing video games. We’re into Pokémon GO. He’s a wrestling fan, too.

I don’t get as many opportunities to meet kids’ fathers as much as Colleen meets the mothers. But sometimes, I’m nervous meeting the fathers because I feel out of their league because some work corporate jobs, and here I am struggling to make ends’ meet with two jobs. It’s not to say that they’re not struggling with the same thing. I have to put those fears aside and be more open.

Last week, I mentioned—or I think I did—that I made goals to 1) write every day in July, and 2) wrote a short story a week. So far, I’ve been doing well. But it’s hard meeting the word count goal I set for myself. As far as the story a week goal goes, I’m in the middle of writing a fantasy short story. And it’s taking longer than what I anticipated. I’m more likely an not going to finish it today. (It’s my fault because I spent too much time planning.) But I will keep plugging away at it. And the next story I write will be a sci-fi story. I had written one before, so I’m looking forward to what I can whip up next.

So, that’s been my week. I hope yours has gone well, too. Please feel free to respond. I love reading what you’ve been up to.

Until next time, take care…

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

Leave a Reply

