Growing One Follower at a Time

This is indeed a joyous occasion. This week, I reached a milestone. I have 200 followers on my blog. It doesn’t sound like much, but it’s kind of a big deal. I understand if I reached 500, I’d be raising banners or something. But I’ll take it for what it’s worth. 200 followers is something I didn’t think would happen. Hell, I thought I would never reach 100 followers. It’s been a slow process. And I’m sure along the way, I lost some followers.

I don’t really track statistics on my blog. I don’t really pay attention to when I get the most views at a certain time, or think about when is the best day to post something. Or which post has the most views and comments. While it is interesting to see what the stats say, none of that really matters to me. I went into blogging to share what I know about writing and my works. And I’ve been doing this for two years now. And I have to say, I’ve had a lot of fun with these posts.

If I had to pinpoint one contributing factor to this growth, I believe it’s because I am writing more. And one reason I’m being more active is the themed entries from the Weekend Coffee Share and the Insecure Writer’s Support Group. I think these posts have given readers some insight into my life as a person and a writer. And then, there’s the A to Z Blogging Challenge. I did it for two straight years. I didn’t this year because I needed a break. And then there are random posts like this, where I kind of rant and ramble about whatever comes to mind. Those are the most fun because I’m writing stream-of-consciousness. 

I am grateful for the 200 followers I have. I don’t think I would have kept up with this blog if I felt I wasn’t getting any support. I’m definitely looking forward to doing more with this blog, and as such, gain more followers. Regardless, I’m happy to share my passions with all of you. Thank you. 

Until next time, take care…

Author: G. R. McNeese

I'm originally from Illinois, currently residing in Georgia. I graduated from Georgia State University with a Bachelor's Degree in Creative Writing. I am blessed with a supportive wife and family.

4 thoughts on “Growing One Follower at a Time”

  1. Congratulations! You’re growth is excellent and most importantly you enjoy what you’re doing and writing about! That makes all the difference in the world and comes through when you write.

    Like

  2. Congratulations! I would love to have more followers but I do not want it to be because of begging or freebies, neither of which I do. I want followers who write comments or send feedback in other ways.

    Like

Leave a Reply

